How to delete Snapchat phone number

What if you delete the Snapchat app?

When it comes to social media services, Snap Inc's Snapchat proudly ranks first. It might not be as popular as Facebook or Twitter, but its unique, smart take on it is appreciated by many around the world. Snapchat's upbeat and “colorful” clothing is indeed eye-catching, but it can also be quite annoying when you grow out of the “hip” Snapchatter stage.

Whether it's the worn, flashy look or the incessant snaps, the suggestion to uninstall Snapchat is pretty real. Unfortunately, every thought of uninstalling it comes with an ongoing fear of missing out on something great in the world of Snaps. If you find yourself in such a dilemma, let this piece guide you. Read on to learn what happens when you uninstall the Snapchat app.

Connected: How to set up two-factor authentication on Snapchat [2FA]

Difference between uninstalling the app and deleting your Snapchat account

Before we discuss what you may or may not miss after deleting your account, it's worth investigating how it's different from deleting your Snapchat account as a whole.

When you click the uninstall button on your phone, it will free up the space that Snapchat has occupied on your phone's internal storage. And that's it. Since your account information is not stored locally but on a remote Snapchat server, uninstalling the app will not harm your account information.

Deleting your Snapchat account, on the other hand, is much more difficult than simply uninstalling it. If you delete your Snapchat account and do not return within 30 days, all data related to your account will be permanently deleted. Your friends won't be able to find you on Snapchat and any memories you've saved over the years will be tossed from the server.

Deleting your Snapchat account is an irreversible process, but deleting the Snapchat app is not.

Connected: Here's how to let everyone participate in your private story on Snapchat

What happens when you uninstall Snapchat?

Now that you know the subtle but important differences between uninstalling and disabling, let's see what really happens when you choose to bid farewell to Snapchat.

Will your friends be removed if you delete the app?

As explained in the previous section, deleting Snapchat is a reversible process. So if you decide to reinstall the app and sign in to your original account, all of the information - including friends - will reappear. Rest assured that if you ever decide to make a great comeback, your friends list will be kept intact.

Connected: Can you have two Snapchat accounts?

What happens to your Snapstreaks if you delete the app?

Technically, Snapchat falls into the same category as the market leader Facebook. However, there are a few things that make the Snap machine stand out. Snapstreaks are one of them. In simple terms, Snapstreaks are the standard metric for communication between you and your friends. After exchanging snaps with a friend for three consecutive days, the Snapstreak metric comes to life. To keep it going, you'll need to exchange at least one Snap - send and receive - with the friend you're streaking with within a 24-hour window.

If you uninstall the app, you will lose the ability to send Snaps to your friends. Your friends can still send you snaps, of course, but the streak would throw a toss since it's a one-way street. If you care about your Snapstreaks, uninstalling the app won't help you.

Connected: How to Play Snap Games

What happens to Snapchat Memories when you delete Snapchat?

Avid Snapchatters typically save their favorite snapshots and stories for multiple viewing, sharing, and retention. They do this with the help of a Snapchat feature called Memories. Of course, if you are one of the many Snapchatters who use this feature, it is important to worry about where you are after you hit the "Uninstall" button. Fortunately, Snapchat takes extra care of the memories you have saved and makes sure they are available when you log back into your Snapchat account. Because local data is completely erased, it may take a while to get back to work.

Can your friends see your location after you delete the app?

If you choose to share your location with friends during the initial setup on Snap Map, your friends can see your location in real time every time they use the app. If you uninstall Snapchat, the application will lose the right to access the GPS - and the current location - of your mobile phone. This means your friends will not be able to see your current whereabouts on Snapchat's Snap Map.

Connected: How to change Snapchat location

Can someone look you up on Snapchat after you delete the app?

In the first subsection of the article, we talked about the differences between uninstalling Snapchat from your phone and deleting your account entirely. Uninstalling doesn't mean deactivating your Snapchat account, just taking a little break from the incessant notifications and pressures to keep Snapstreaks alive. For all Snapchatters around the world, you're still pretty much alive on the platform, but you're not actively contributing. They can look you up as usual and even send you snaps if they feel like it.

How do I get Snapchat back?

If you want to go back to your glory days and use Snapchat as normal, all you have to do is download the app from Google Play or the App Store and sign in with your old username and password.

Once you do, you will be immediately put back into your account. Your friends - assuming they're still active - memories, snapshots and everything else would be at your fingertips again.

CONNECTED